Discovering Old New Authors

981181_111121102902_DSC05864

I regularly buy second hand books, love the smell of an old “new to me” book. There’s a little book exchange minutes from where I live, as if meant to be. To be brutally honest, I cannot say that I have been an avid reader since childhood. I didn’t do Tom Sawyer or Harry Potter-like books when I was eleven. I did however have an imagination that I am sure scared my parents at times.

Getting back to the point, my knowledge of who-is-who in the author world is therefore limited. I would stroll into the book exchange and pick my books purely from instinct and back covers. Nothing wrong with that, but I did however stumble across a couple of unsuitable (I try not to use the word ‘bad’) ones. Unsuitable…yes. It was the equivalent of renting a dvd and realising half way through that I am wasting my time if I thought I would get anything out of it, even if entertainment was all I was looking for.

A couple of months back I read Stephen King On Writing and he was kind enough to recommend quite a number of books. Off to the Book Exchange with list in hand. Off course I knew I wouldn’t get exactly what I wanted, but close. The owner had a twinkle in her eye as she saw my list, as if thinking, “Marvellous, a book lover indeed”.  My first 4 buys from the recommended list were;

  • The Tutor by Peter Abrahams (Author of A Perfect Crime)
  • Church of Dead Girls by Stephen Dobyns
  • Another World by Pat Barker
  • A Collection of Stories by Faulkner

I had no idea who any of them were, except I have of course heard of Faulkner. This morning I started on The Tutor and I am half way, absolutely intrigued. Loving it! How fun to discover new authors, new to me, not the world. So shall I say I am doing a marathon, if you like, of suggested books.

Suggest away please  (Suspense & Fantasy preferred)….

Leave a Reply

